Blog

Turn it up

Daily devotion time with our children happens at various moments throughout the day: prayer, grace before meals, stories, and music. My daughter and I have found a mutual devotional bond through music. It surprised me too! While the good ‘ol traditional hymns of Amazing Grace, Jesus Loves Me, and Kumbaya are all warm and lovely, we really enjoy the latest contemporary music we hear on KLove.

There are a few songs that we just really rock out to and it’s ok. It’s praise and worship. She needs to know that we can go to God in various ways. Music has always given me an added boost of energy. As a mom you want to hear “TURN IT UP” to clean wholesome lyrics that have a faith filled message. Hearing these songs are like daily prayers that fall on God’s ears. If I can hear her belting out the words to David Crowder’s I Am then I know God hears her too. There is no better way to start my day than to hear my three year old singing, “I am holding on to you. I am holding on to you. In the middle of the storm I am holding on, I am.” She reminds me that at all times and in all ways we can come to God.

So thank you David Crowder, KLove, and all the awesome Christian artists who are drawing my children in with their catchy tunes and positive messages.

Psalm 40:3 (NIV)
“He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the Lord and put their trust in him.”

Dear Lord, Thank you for the music that we choose to bring into our home. May it continue to evolve and bring your word to us in new ways. Please help us to find time daily to devote to you either together or separately through song, prayer, grace, or story. We look to you for guidance and support. Thank you for holding on to us whether our storm is great or small you are always there. Please help us to feel your love. In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

7 thoughts on “Turn it up

  1. I like your post. I, too, try to find strength and calmness in music. Being a parent, we just have to find our outlets! Anyway, I will follow your blog, and I would love it if you follow mine back!

Leave a Reply

